Fields of Application

Critical investment decisions, company takeovers, the creation of new business relationships, the replacement of personnel in important positions, or the expansion of business on a regional scale involve uncertainty and risks. Such business decisions can quickly lead to financial losses or significant damage to one’s reputation. In order to better manage and minimise these risks, it is essential to engage in a due-diligence review of partners (companies) both in advance and on an ongoing basis.

Fraud, bribery, and corruption impact a company’s success. Additionally, thorough compliance checks are necessary in many areas due to today’s more restrictive and stricter anti-corruption and money laundering laws. 

With our reputation and compliance check, we help you to avoid compliance risks in advance. With the appropriate processes, an awareness of integrity and transparency can be achieved with regard to the existing business chains and particularly with regard to your employees. As a result, the value of your business and reputation will be protected on an ongoing basis.

Why do businesses need due diligence and compliance checks?

Detailed background checks help you to protect your business and business interests as well as avoid risks. A broad basis of information is thus the basis upon which you can make a well-founded decision about extensive business developments. 

Through a due diligence test, you will attain important background information about your business partners in advance. You will thus minimise any risks that may result from such collaboration.

Our compliance checks allow you to be certain that you are adhering to the regulatory requirements that apply to your business relationships.  

With our due diligence and compliance checks, you will gain a full overview of the following:

  • Legal Compliance
  • Avoidance of financial damage
  • Avoidance of reputational damage
  • Preservation of economic interests
     

Integrated Due Diligence: Review of Individuals and Companies

The auditing of new and existing business partners currently belongs to the basic due diligence obligations of a company. We support your decision through a detailed risk analysis as well as a detailed audit of your future business partners. With the help of our integrated due diligence, also known as “integrity due diligence”, “investigative due diligence” or “know your customer”, you are able to achieve a comprehensive overview of the person or company in question.

A background check of a (potential) business partner naturally entails costs – these costs are minimal compared with the costs and the time involved in the event that these business decisions are determined to be initially doomed to failure.

Our due diligence test helps you to make the right decisions:

  • It helps you gain a comprehensive overview of the companies or individuals in question.
  • It shows the true risks pertaining to concrete business relationships and is thus the basis upon which you can weigh out the implications of further decisions.
  • It highlights subtle and hiddenrisks and exposes “red flags”.
  • It helps you abide by the laws relating to due diligence obligations.
  • It gives you the upper hand with regard to information.
     

Compliance: Reputation and Risk Assessment

The requirements and expectations for good and transparent corporate management are on the rise – due to both your relationships with stakeholders and business partners as well as due to new laws, rules, and standards. Many compliance programmes are based mainly on internal structures and employees – business partners, subcontractors, or third parties are often left out. Nonetheless, unlawful behaviour of the partners can lead to financial loss through fines, damages, or negative credit ratings. The possibility of damaging one’s image can be equally devastating; this can lead to exclusion from public contracts or the termination of business relationships.

As part of our reputation and risk assessment, we examine the comprehensive background of your business partners. We check to see if the business partners include politically exposed persons (PEPs) or individuals or companies affected by sanctions. In addition, we carefully examine the business partners in order to gain clues and information regarding actions and business relationships that are relevant to the contractual relationship.

With our legally compliant reputation and risk assessments, you will gain a complete overview and fulfil all compliance requirements:

  • We help to ensure that your business activities always comply with government regulations and industry standards.
  • We identify beneficial owners and provide background information about them.
  • We provide transparency and minimise the risk of collaboration with business partners that are potentially problematic.
  • We help uncover potential vulnerabilities in your compliance system or business chain.
  • Through our compliance analysis, the scope of your internal risk management is increased, helping you go above and beyond the mere fulfilment of duty. 
  • We help you save time and money, as the results of our research can be incorporated into your internal processes in many other ways, for example, in credit ratings or the necessary assessments according to the ISO 9001:2015 quality management standard.

Einsatzfelder

Kritische Investitionsentscheidungen, Firmenübernahmen, die Aufnahme neuer Geschäftsbeziehungen, die Neubesetzung einer wichtigen Stelle oder die regionale Ausweitung der Geschäftstätigkeit gehen mit Unsicherheiten und Risiken einher. Solche Geschäftsentscheidungen können schnell zu finanziellen Verlusten oder erheblichen Reputationsschaden führen. Um diese Risiken besser zu managen bzw. sie zu minimieren, ist sowohl im Vorfeld als auch fortlaufend eine detaillierte Due-Diligence-Überprüfung der Partner(-unternehmen) notwendig.

Betrug, Bestechung und Korruption beeinträchtigen den Erfolg eines Unternehmens. Zudem sind gründliche Compliance-Prüfungen schon allein aufgrund der heute enger gefassten und strenger durchgesetzten Anti-Korruptions- und Geldwäschegesetze in vielen Bereichen notwendig.

Mit unserem Reputations- und Compliance-Check helfen wir Ihnen, Compliance-Risiken im Vorfeld zu vermeiden. Zudem wird mit entsprechenden Prozessen in der bestehenden Geschäftskette und insbesondere bei Ihren Mitarbeitern ein Bewusstsein, für Integrität und Transparenz geschaffen. Im Ergebnis werden Ihre Unternehmenswerte und -reputation dauerhaft geschützt.

Wieso brauchen Unternehmen Due-Diligence- und Compliance-Prüfungen?

Detaillierte Hintergrundprüfungen helfen Ihnen, Ihr Unternehmen und seine Interessen zu schützen und Risiken zu vermeiden. Eine breite Informationsgrundlage ist so die Basis, auf der Sie eine fundierte Entscheidung über weitreichende Geschäftsentwicklungen treffen können.

Durch eine Due-Diligence-Prüfung erhalten Sie im Vorfeld von wichtigen Geschäftsentscheidungen essentielle Hintergrundinformationen über Ihren Geschäftspartner und minimieren so das Risiko, dass Sie durch eine Zusammenarbeit Schaden nehmen.

Durch unseren Compliance-Check stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die regulatorischen Sorgfaltspflichten, die für Ihre Geschäftsbeziehungen gelten, einhalten

Mit unseren Due-Diligence- und Compliance-Checks haben Sie den vollen Überblick:

  • Rechtskonformität
  • Vermeidung von finanziellen Schäden
  • Vermeidung von Reputationsschäden
  • Wahrung der wirtschaftlichen Interessen

Integritäts-Due-Diligence: Überprüfung von Personen und Firmen

Die Prüfung neuer und bestehender Geschäftspartner gehört heute zu den grundsätzlichen Sorgfaltspflichten eines Unternehmen. Wir unterstützen Ihre Entscheidung durch eine detaillierte Risikoanalyse bzw. eine detaillierte Überprüfung des künftigen Partnerunternehmens. Mit Hilfe unserer Integritäts-Due-Diligence, auch „Integrity Due Diligence“ oder „Investigative Due Diligence“ oder „Know Your Customer“ benannt, bekommen Sie einen umfassenden Überblick über die Zielperson oder -firma.

Eine Hintergrundprüfung eines (potenziellen) Geschäftspartners birgt natürlich auch Kosten – diese sind jedoch minimal im Vergleich zu den Kosten und dem Zeitaufwand, die für eine, von Beginn an zum Scheitern verurteilte Zusammenarbeit aufgebracht werden würden.

Unsere Due-Diligence-Überprüfung hilft Ihnen, die richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen:

  • Sie verschafft einen umfassenden Gesamtüberblick über das Zielunternehmen bzw. die Zielperson.
  • Sie zeigt das tatsächliche Risiko von konkreten Geschäftsbeziehungen und ist so die Basis für das Abwägen des weiteren Vorgehens.
  • Sie erkennt nicht offensichtliche bzw. verschleierte Risiken und deckt „Red Flags“ auf.
  • Sie unterstützt Sie bei der Einhaltung gesetzlicher Vorgaben zur Sorgfaltspflicht.
  • Sie verschafft Ihnen die Oberhand über die Informationslage.

Compliance: Reputations- und Risikobewertungen

Die Anforderungen und Erwartungen an eine gute, transparente Unternehmensführung steigen stetig an – seitens der Stakeholder und Geschäftspartner, aber auch durch neue Gesetze, Regeln und Standards.

Viele Compliance-Programme sind hauptsächlich auf die internen Strukturen und eigenen Mitarbeiter ausgerichtet – Geschäftspartner, Subunternehmer oder Third Parties bleiben außen vor. Jedoch auch rechtswidriges Verhalten der Partner kann zu finanziellen Verlusten durch Geldstrafen, Schadensersatzzahlungen oder negativer Einschätzung der Kreditwürdigkeit führen. Ebenso verheerend ist der potenzielle Image-Schaden, der letztlich zum Ausschluss von öffentlichen Aufträgen oder zum Abbruch von Geschäftsbeziehungen führen kann.

Im Rahmen unserer Reputations- und Risikobewertungen durchleuchten wir den kompletten Hintergrund Ihres Geschäftspartners. Wir überprüfen, ob es sich um politisch exponierte Personen (PEPs) oder von Sanktionen betroffene Personen bzw. Unternehmen (SANs) handelt. Zudem prüfen wir die Geschäftspartner sorgfältig auf Hinweise und Informationen bezüglich Handlungen und geschäftliche Verhältnisse, die für das Vertragsverhältnis relevant sind.

Mit unseren rechtskonformen Reputations- und Risikobewertungen haben Sie den vollen Überblick und können alle Compliance-Anforderungen erfüllen:

  • Wir helfen sicherzustellen, dass Ihre geschäftlichen Aktivitäten stets die gesetzlichen Regulierungen und gängigen Branchenstandards einhalten.
  • Wir erreichen eine eindeutige Identifizierung von wirtschaftlichen Eigentümern und liefern Hintergründe zu diesen.
  • Wir verschaffen Transparenz und minimieren so das Risiko einer Zusammenarbeit mit unter Umständen problematischen Geschäftspartnern.
  • Wir helfen, potenzielle Schwachstellen in Ihrem Compliance-System bzw. ihrer Geschäftskette aufzudecken.
  • Durch unsere Compliance-Analyse vergrößert sich der Wirkungskreis Ihres internen Risikomanagements und geht so über pure Pflichterfüllung hinaus.
  • Wir verhelfen Ihnen zu Zeit- und Kostenersparnissen, da die Ergebnisse unserer Prüfungen an vielen weiteren Stellen in Ihre internen Prozesse einfließen können, bspw. in Bonitätsratings oder die notwendigen Bewertungen nach der Qualitätsmanagementnorm ISO 9001:2015.